When you lie down, and when you rise up

057

APRIL: Week ONE  

I have a love hate relationship with spring.  It is where new blossoms and new life, fresh flowers and fresh smells live.  It is also where tornadoes live.  And I cannot tell you how much I HATE tornadoes.  Not just actual tornadoes, but the THOUGHT of tornadoes.  If I allow myself, I can go into a full-blown panic at the sight of a few raindrops.  It send me whizzing to the computer or my phone to check alerts, view the hour by hour forecast and start making plans for our place of shelter in the storm—-just. in. case.  I have no idea why I have this giant fear of storms, where it originated or why it lingers.  I’m sure I should try to get to the bottom of it one of these days, but for now I just basically try to survive until mid June.  When I start to feel safe again.  All of that to say, I was totally on board when we sat down to talk about our area of reclamation for April, and I heard Danny say that he really thinks we should concentrate on spiritual things this month.  April is a time when I can definitely use some extra Jesus!  Our area of reclamation for the month of April is

Family Spirituality  

008  

003

009

unfortunately, sometimes when life gets busy, devotion (or quiet time or whatever you choose to call it) is the first thing to go.  We struggle with this.  Individually and as a family.  We have a different schedule than most because of Danny’s working hours, so bedtime bible stories are sometimes just the kids and me.  And sometimes there is so much going on that the bible story gets skipped for a short bedtime prayer.  We don’t want it to be like this.  We desire for times of reading the bible, talking about God and praying together as a family to be the most important, most prevalent, most everyday, never-gets-skipped, always-gets-done, part of our family life.  Because, after all, this is what really matters.  Everything else will come and go, but our hearts are forever, faith is forever, Jesus is forever.  

001

011

Our goals for the first week of april are:

*To have individual devotions everyday (set a time, and stick to it)

*To have family devotions everyday (figure out a time–morning or evening–that works best for our schedule, and stick to it)

*To memorize scripture (the girls are already doing this with AWANA, but Danny and I want to be more intentional about memorization.  We will each pick a scripture to practice and memorize this week.)

 “You shall teach them to your children, talking of them when you are sitting in your house, and when you are walking by the way, and when you lie down, and when you rise.  

Deuteronomy 11:19

Leave a Reply

